Friday, October 28, 2011

Speaker Maggie Shayne - The Art of Collaboration

The Art of Collaboration

After more than 50 novels in her solo career, Maggie warily agreed to work with a collaborator for the first time in 2011, unsure in the extreme how it would go and worried, too, the collaborator being her daughter. But halfway through their first joint project, she says she's never had more fun writing a novel. Learn her best tips and tricks for working with a collaborator and keeping the love alive.

sanity 101

Having trouble dealing with the everyday stresses of a writer's life, feelings of competitiveness, of career envy, pressure to succeed, feeling like a fraud who'll soon be found out, angry at publishers and their terms, lashing out at the unfairness of it all, or hustling to keep up with maddening deadlines? Find out how to deal with all of these issues and more in a workshop that is more about YOU and your feelings than about the nuts and bolts of writing novels. Topics will include how to change your attitude, how to always get what you want, how to deal with stress, how and when to argue with your publisher, and how to put it all into perspective.

New York Times bestselling author Maggie Shayne has published 51 novels and 23 novellas. She has written for 7 publishers and 2 soap operas, has racked up 15 Rita Award nominations and actually, finally, won the damn thing in 2005. Her advice column, “Shayne on You” runs weekly in the Norwich Evening Sun. Maggie lives in a beautiful, century old, happily haunted farmhouse named “Serenity” in the wildest wilds of Cortland County, NY, with her soulmate, Lance. They share a pair of English Mastiffs, Dozer & Daisy, a little English Bulldog, Niblet, and the wise guardian and guru of them all, the feline Glory, who keeps the dogs firmly in their places. Maggie’s a Wiccan high priestess (legal clergy even) and an avid follower of the Law of Attraction (see Maggie’s 2010 season has been huge, with the back to back releases of her summer suspense trilogy, the Secrets of Shadow Falls: KILLING ME SOFTLY in July, KILL ME AGAIN in August, and KISS ME KILL ME in September. Maggie’s Wings in the Night vampire series, known as the “twilight” series by her readers due to that word having been in nearly every title, began in 1993 and is now 17 stories long. Three of those titles will be reissued this fall: TWILIGHT HUNGER in October, EDGE OF TWILIGHT in November, and BLUE TWILIGHT in December. There will be two brand new vampire novels and one new vampire novella in 2011; TWILIGHT PROPHECY in May, VACATION WITH A VAMPIRE (anthology) in the summer, and TWILIGHT FULFILLMENT in October.

You can visit Maggie at
She’s also on Twitter and Facebook, and she blogs solo at
and with friends at

Posted by Vijaya Schartz
Desert Dreams Blogger and Speaker
Award-winning Romantic Science Fiction with a Kick

No comments:

Post a Comment